Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Joshua Bell At Home with Friends CD Review

"Live From Lincoln Center" on PBS, 
January 21 at 8pm EST
Make sure you tune in! 
You are going to want to record this one!

{ Joshua Bell }

Grammy Award-winning violinist Joshua Bell has been in the spotlight since he was 14 years old.Fourteen! Now, 20 years and 30 original albums later, Joshua has the public’s attention like no other classical violinist of his time, captivating audiences worldwide. He’s a soloist, chamber musician, orchestra leader and he’s earned countless awards and honors for his work as a concert stage performer and recording artist, including“Classical Artist of the Year” and “Classical CD of the Year” byBillboard Magazine. He’s the first musician to have a classical music video played onVH1, and he’s appeared on Sesame Street. And you know he’s big if he’s been on Sesame Street.
Joshua's new album, At Home With Friends, will be in stores September 29 and it’s AMAZING! You see, he’s well known for holding ‘musical soirées’ at his Manhattan residence – parties with musicians, actors, comics and authors who get together just for the sheer joy of sharing their art. So with this new album, Joshua fulfilled a life-long career dream of recording a CD of instrumental and vocal duets with an amazing roster of musicians and friends.
At Home With Friends covers all of the genres, fromclassical to pop, bluegrass to Broadway, jazz and ethnic World Music. There are even a couple of seasonaltracks in there, just in time to celebrate the holidays.
At Home With Friends covers all of the genres, fromclassical to pop, bluegrass to Broadway, jazz and ethnic World Music. There are even a couple of seasonaltracks in there, just in time to celebrate the holidays.

Check out the track list:
  • Album Tracklisting (Originally performed by):
  • I Loves You Porgy featuring Chris Botti, trumpet
  • Come Again featuring Sting, vocals
  • Oblivion featuring Carel Kraayenhof, bandoneon
  • Cinema Paradiso featuring Josh Groban, vocals
  • Para Tí featuring Tiempo Libre, various
  • My Funny Valentine featuring Kristin Chenoweth, vocals
  • Maybe So featuring Edgar Meyer Sam Bush and Mike Marshall, strings
  • Grieg: Sonata No. 3 featuring Sergei Rachmaninoff (Zenph re-performance)
  • Eleanor Rigby featuring Frankie Moreno, piano & vocals
  • O, Cease Thy Maiden Fair featuring Nathan Gunn, baritone
  • Il Postino featuring Carel Kraayenhof, bandoneon
  • Left Hand Song featuring Regina Spektor, piano & vocals
  • Chovendo Na Roseira featuring Dave Grusin, piano
  • Look Away featuring Edgar Meyer, bass and Chris Thile, mandolin
  • Variant Moods: Duet for Sitar & Violin featuring Anoushka Shankar, sitar
  • I'll Take Manhattan featuring Marvin Hamlisch, piano
  • Left Hand featuring Regina Spektor, vocals

This by far is one of the best CD's that I have listened to in a long time. You can find both my husband and I sitting and listening to this as we work at our desks. We are definitely a fan of Joshua Bell. This CD offers a great range of music as well as vocals. My favorite on this CD is of course "My Funny Valentine." I am an old school girl. I love old movies and love stories. Joshua Bell's passion for music is truly gift. I can picture my self watching him play for hours, bringing the tissues of course because that is how great he is. He makes you feel like you are in the moment feeling the music. Just like when you read a good book and feel as if you are in the story seeing everything happen, this music can place you in the moment.

Make sure you visit:

What I love....
  • The music will just take you away
  • Very relaxing, perfect for a quiet evening in
  • He goes on tour, you can hear for your self in person, how great he is
  • This album was inspired by making music at home. Joshua says, " As a performer, to make music with people sitting on your coach, or on pillows on the floor, its electric. Their up close." ( I loved this interview. Check it out Here.)

The featured product {s} in this post were provided to me free of charge by the manufacturer or pr company representing the company. All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by anyone.  Disclaimer/Terms of use.


  1. I can't believe I never heard of him. Makes me think I live under a rock,lol. I have to go chek him out.Great review.

  2. Thanks Ms Bibi. And thanks for stopping by and saying hello to the Team. We are all very excited about working here together. Hope you come back often.


Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We appreciate every comment and try to reply via email to as many as we can. Have a fantastic day!

UPDATE...Sorry I had to update my comments to be approved. Spam is now getting through. :(